Does Goat Cheese Have Lactose?
If you are lactose intolerant but love cheese, you may have wondered if goat cheese does have lactose in it? The answer is very simple. All milk that comes from mammals does. However, the amount is still in question…
Goat Cheese, like most cheeses, does not contain a lot of lactose. While they do contain some, most lactose intolerant or sensitive people can consume some amounts of cheese. The more cheese you consume, the more likely you are to experience problems if you are lactose intolerant. Now, if you have a milk allergy, then goat cheese may not be a wise choice.
During the fermentation process, most of the lactose found in goat cheese is broken down. In fact, nearly all of it is broken down during this process. Only about 2% remains after the fermentation process. Some people find that because of this low amount, they are able to tolerate this yummy dish better than cheese made from cows milk.
Although still visible in goat cheese it doesn’t contain as much as other milk based cheeses. Goat cheese has become a popular option for people who are highly sensitive to cows milk and the lactose found in the product. If you are lactose intolerant, go easy on the consumption and test your tolerance before eating.