Does Sherbet Have Milk In It?

Sherbet is a dessert that is well loved around the world. It is often confused with sorbet as the words are used interchangeably. Sherbet is similar in taste and texture to ice cream so many people assume it has milk in it. But on the other hand, sorbet does not have milk in it. So does sherbet have milk in it?

The answer is yes. Sherbet has about 1-2% dairy in it compared to about 10% in ice cream. So while it has far less milk than ice cream is does has milk in it.
You can get sherbet without dairy in it, but most will be labeled that they do not contain dairy. Most people who want to know are either vegetarians or lactose intolerant. Depending on your level of lactose intolerance, you may be able to stomach sherbet and not ice cream. If you are a vegetarian, you're going to have to go without sherbet unless you buy the dairy free variety. Or you could opt and go for sorbet.

As far as weight loss goes, sherbet has fewer calories than ice cream but it is still far from healthy. You'll want to make sure you eat it in small portions and not make it a daily part of your diet. Now that you know sherbet does have milk in it, you can make your diet decisions accordingly.

You might be interested in:

© 1997 - 2017 LosingWeight.com. All rights reserved.